UNIVERSITY STANDING COMMITEES AY 2023-2024 Faculty Senators appear in BOLD type. Term expiration dates listed as AY 2022-2023, 2023-2024, or 2024-2025 *Provost appointee ** Dean of Admissions appointee *** DEI (Equity Office) appointee September 5, 2023

ACADEMIC APPEALS

Virginia Blair (CPH - 2023) Kendra Clark (SCHAR - 2024) Marcie Fyock (CEHD - 2025) Catherine Wright (CHSS - 2025) Ashley Yuckenberg (SBUS - 2025) Keith Renshaw (Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education)*

ACADEMIC INITIATIVES

Alan Abramson (SCHAR – 2024) Nada Dabbagh (CEHD- 2025)

Chrystal George Mwangi (CHSS - 2025) Abhishek Ray (SBUS- 2024) Lee Solomon (COS 2024) Ashley Yuckenberg (SBUS- 2024) Janette Muir (Vice Provost for Academic Affairs), *ex-officio*

ADMISSIONS - 3 year terms

Megan Erb (COS – 2024), chair Alan Abramson (SCHAR - 2025) Melissa Bevacqua (Director, Undergraduate Admissions) ** Tim Curby (CHSS- 2025) Kumar Mehta (SBUS-2024)*** *** Faculty Senate Budget and Resources Committee Roberto Pamas (CEHD - 2024)

Esperanza Roman Mendoza (CHSS - 2025)

ADULT LEARNING AND EXECUTIVE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Victoria Grady (SBUS - 2025)

Janet Ha Poirot (CHSS - 2025) Sabari Rajan Karmegam (SBUS – 2024) (David) Seung Hyun Koo (Mason Korea – 2024) Evelyn Tomaszewski (CPH - 2024) Heather Walter (CEHD - 2025)

ATHLETIC COUNCIL

Dominique Banville (CEHD) (Chair, Faculty Athletic Representative)

Margaret Jones (CEHD – 2024) Lisa M. Rabin (CHSS – 2024) Ali Weinstein (CPH - 2025)

EFFECTIVE TEACHING

Thomas Wood (CHSS - 2024), chair Daphne King (CPH - 2025) Lori Mandable (COS- 2024) Jeremy Plotnick (SBUS – 2024) ChangGyo Ryu (MasonKorea - 2024) Divya Varier (CEHD - 2025) Kristien Zenkov (CEHD - 2024)

EXTERNAL ACADEMIC RELATIONS

Justin Gest (SCHAR)* **Kerri LaCharite (CPH- 2024)** Shora Moteabbed (SBUS - 2025) Robert Osgood (CEC - 2025) Andrew E Rudd (CHSS - 2025) Ioulia Rytikova (CEC - 2025)

FACULTY EQUITY AND INCLUSION COMMITTEE

Rochelle Jones (CEC - 2025) Mariia Nykyforovych (SBUS - 2025) **Marvin Powell (CEHD - 2025)** Peter Streckfus (CHSS - 2025) Michelle S. Williams (CPH - 2025)

FACULTY HANDBOOK REVISION (3-year terms) Ginny Blair (CPH – 2025) Tim Gibson (CHSS - 2024) Solon Simmons (Carter - 2026) Renate Guilford (Vice Provost, Academic Administration)* (pending VP Human Resources appointee)

GRADING PROCESS TASK FORCE (3-year terms) Timothy Curby (CHSS-2025) Richard Craig, Communication (CHSS-2025) Keith Renshaw, Psychology (CHSS-2025)

Carter Kenneth Strazzeri (CEC) John Leung (MK) University College Douglas Wilson (CEDH) Courtney Wooten (CHSS) Elizabeth de Jonge (CPH) Elisabeth Epstein (COS) Seth Hudson Law (CVPA) Alexandria Zylstra (SBUS) SCHAR – Phil Martin (SCHAR)

One member of the Academic Policies Committee - Alexandra Masterson Two students: one elected member of GAPSA and one elected member of Student Senate The Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education (or designate) - Laura W. Poms The Associate Provost for Graduate Education (or designate) - Jason McKnight The Director of the Stearns Center (or designate) - Breana Bayraktar Representative from the Graduate Council the Registrar (or designate) - Doug McKenna

GRIEVANCE

Amanda Marie Caswell (CEHD - 2025) Carol Cleaveland (CPH – 2024) Catherine Gallagher (CHSS - 2025) **Eugene Kontorovich (ASLS - 2024)** Kyeung Mi Oh (CPH - 2025)

MASON CORE COMMITTEE (3-year terms)

Keith Renshaw (Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education), Co-chair Debra Stroiney (CEHD - 2026), Co-chair Abena Aidoo (2024) Lauren Cattaneo (CHSS)* Jamie Clark (CHSS - 2025) Matt Cronin (SBUS - 2025) *on leave in fall 2023* Matthew Dievendorf (CVPA) *fall 2023 only* Jason Kinser (COS)* Samaine Lockwood (CHSS - 2025) Anne Verhoeven (COS - 2024) Liz White (CEC)* Courtney Adams Wooten (CHSS - 2024) Shun Ye (SBUS)* Andrea Zach (CHSS - 2024) Student Senate Representative

Laura Poms (Mason Core Director), ex-officio

Shelley Reid (Executive Director of Engaged Teaching, Stearns Center for Teaching & Learning), ex-officio Gina Polychronopoulos (Associate Director of Curricular Assessment, OIEP), ex-officio Representative from the Writing Across the Curriculum Committee

MULTILINGUAL STUDENTS ACADEMIC SUPPORT COMMITTEE

Shelley Reid, Director for Teaching Excellence, Stearns Center, Co-chair Anna Habib, Associate Director, Composition for Multilingual Writers and English Department Liaison to INTO and Mason Korea, Co-chair (David) Seung Hyun Koo (Mason-Korea – 2024) **Alexandra Masterson (COS – 2024)** Sarah Rickless (CHSS - 2025)

Representatives from specified areas below: Maoira Kirker, Lead, Teaching and Learning Team, University Libraries Susan Lawrence, Director, Writing Center, English Shelby Broberg, Director, Communication Center, Communication Tom Polk, Director, Writing Across the Curriculum, English Aimee Weinstein (Term Assistant Professor, INTO George Mason University) Yali Pan (Associate Director of Engagement & Assessment, International Programs & Services) Kristin Wright (Undergraduate Education) Eunkyoung Park (Director of Co-Curricular Assessment, Institutional Effectiveness and Planning) Noor Ahmed Abuzinadah (Student Senate) Center for Culture, Equity and Empowerment - TBA Graduate Education – TBA

RECREATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Amanda Marie Caswell (CEHD - 2025) Linda Merola (CHSS - 2025) Gene Schuman (CEC - 2025)

RESEARCH ADVISORY COMMITTEE (3-year terms) John Dale (CHSS- 2026) Charlotte Gill (CHSS – 2024) Jim Olds (SCHAR- 2025) Amira Roess (CPH – 2025) Rashmi Sadana (CHSS - 2024) Burak Tanyu (CEC – 2025) Jie Zhang (COS – 2025)

Faculty Representative to BOV Research Committee, ex officio

REIMAGINING FACULTY ROLES AND REWARDS

Chair or designee of the Faculty Matters Committee (co-chair);

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Development (co-chair);

Chair or designee of the Faculty Handbook Committee;

Three tenure-line I/R faculty, elected by the Faculty Senate;

Three term I/R faculty, elected by the Faculty Senate;

One Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs (or similar role, appointed by Provost);

One representative from Research Council (appointed by Provost); and

Two Local Academic Head/Department Chairs (one elected by the Faculty Senate, one appointed by Provost)

SALARY EQUITY STUDY

Anna Pollack (CPH – 2024)

Jim Witte (CHSS - 2025) Ashley Yuckenberg (SBUS- 2024) Kyle Warfield (Equity, Engagement, and Belonging Manager)*** Renate Guilford (Vice Provost, Academic Administration)*

TECHNOLOGY POLICY

Delton Daigle (SCHAR – 2024), Co-chair Kevin Dunayer (CVPA & CEHD 2024), Co-chair Lee Black (CPH - 2025) Socrates Dimitriadis (CEC – 2024) Ariel Goldenthal (CHSS - 2025) Bernard Schmidt (CEC - 2025) Pam Baker (CEHD)*

UNIVERSITY PROMOTION, TENURE AND RENEWAL APPEAL (UPTRAC)

Three members, must be tenured faculty:

Vacant- need a tenured Senator

David B. Wilson (CHSS - 2025) Sue Slocum (CEHD - 2025)

Two alternates, must be tenured faculty: Kristina Olson (CHSS - 2025) Kyeung Mi Oh (CPH - 2025)

Two tenured administrators, appointed by the Provost: Mark Rozell (Dean, Schar School of Policy and Government – 2023)* Melissa Perry (Dean, CPH)*

One alternate tenured administrator, appointed by the Provost: Fernando Miralles Wilhelm (Dean, COS)*

WRITING ACROSS THE CURRICULUM

Eric Anderson (CHSS – 2024) Daniel Hanley (COS – 2024) Ellen Laipson (Elected September 28, 2022) Laurie Miller (INTO Mason - 2024) Tom Polk, WAC Program Director, *ex-officio* Virginia Blair (CPH - 2023) Seth Hudson (CVPA - 2023) Leslie La Croix (CEHD - 2025) Ellen Laipson (SCHAR- 2024) Cheryl Oetjen (CPH - 2025) Katherine Russell (CEC - 2025) Ashley Yuckenberg (SBUS - 2025)